Skip to content
Antrim and Newtownabbey Counts — Antrim and Newtownabbey, in numbers.Local help →

Antrim and Newtownabbey, in numbers

People and living standards

Antrim and Newtownabbey council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Antrim and Newtownabbey council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 128,760 in 2001 to 148,487 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

2001 to 2025

Antrim and Newtownabbey council area · people

Reviewed figures: 2001 to 2025. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 128,760 people in 2001; 148,487 people in 2025. 15.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Antrim and Newtownabbey council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991These figures are missing.
1992These figures are missing.
1993These figures are missing.
1994These figures are missing.
1995These figures are missing.
1996These figures are missing.
1997These figures are missing.
1998These figures are missing.
1999These figures are missing.
2000These figures are missing.
2001128,760
2002129,502
2003130,356
2004131,067
2005132,350
2006133,216
2007134,756
2008136,122
2009137,422
2010138,044
2011138,651
2012139,397
2013140,042
2014140,682
2015141,364
2016142,138
2017142,996
2018143,952
2019145,152
2020145,563
2021145,852
2022146,148
2023147,298
2024148,100
2025148,487
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

2001 to 2025

Antrim and Newtownabbey council area · people

Reviewed figures: 2001 to 2025. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 28,953 people in 2001; 28,368 people in 2025. 2% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Antrim and Newtownabbey council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991These figures are missing.
1992These figures are missing.
1993These figures are missing.
1994These figures are missing.
1995These figures are missing.
1996These figures are missing.
1997These figures are missing.
1998These figures are missing.
1999These figures are missing.
2000These figures are missing.
200128,953
200228,698
200328,583
200428,332
200528,547
200628,444
200728,568
200828,817
200929,060
201029,232
201129,291
201229,412
201329,349
201429,303
201529,316
201629,507
201729,553
201829,602
201929,657
202029,465
202129,217
202229,150
202329,144
202428,812
202528,368
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

2001 to 2025

Antrim and Newtownabbey council area · people

Reviewed figures: 2001 to 2025. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 83,288 people in 2001; 92,991 people in 2025. 11.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Antrim and Newtownabbey council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991These figures are missing.
1992These figures are missing.
1993These figures are missing.
1994These figures are missing.
1995These figures are missing.
1996These figures are missing.
1997These figures are missing.
1998These figures are missing.
1999These figures are missing.
2000These figures are missing.
200183,288
200283,960
200384,650
200485,340
200586,153
200686,720
200787,801
200888,500
200988,981
201088,914
201188,982
201288,990
201389,184
201489,284
201589,526
201689,653
201790,062
201890,475
201991,086
202091,273
202191,320
202291,247
202391,911
202492,592
202592,991
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

2001 to 2025

Antrim and Newtownabbey council area · people

Reviewed figures: 2001 to 2025. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 16,519 people in 2001; 27,128 people in 2025. 64.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Antrim and Newtownabbey council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991These figures are missing.
1992These figures are missing.
1993These figures are missing.
1994These figures are missing.
1995These figures are missing.
1996These figures are missing.
1997These figures are missing.
1998These figures are missing.
1999These figures are missing.
2000These figures are missing.
200116,519
200216,844
200317,123
200417,395
200517,650
200618,052
200718,387
200818,805
200919,381
201019,898
201120,378
201220,995
201321,509
201422,095
201522,522
201622,978
201723,381
201823,875
201924,409
202024,825
202125,315
202225,751
202326,243
202426,696
202527,128
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 145,664 residents
How this census compares with other years

Northern Ireland’s 2021 native ethnicity categories are retained. Counts are for current Local Government Districts, not reconstructed historical districts. Different tables can differ slightly because of census privacy protection.

Ethnic group · Antrim and Newtownabbey · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White140,88096.7%
Irish Traveller650%
Roma100%
Indian1,3400.9%
Chinese6220.4%
Filipino3860.3%
Pakistani1670.1%
Arab1070.1%
Other Asian2700.2%
Black African4300.3%
Black Other1190.1%
Mixed1,0490.7%
Other ethnicities2190.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 12.7% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Antrim and Newtownabbey council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,200 per person in 1997; £22,664 per person in 2024. 146.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Antrim and Newtownabbey council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,200
19989,193
19999,530
200010,221
200110,485
200210,980
200311,471
200412,113
200512,531
200613,035
200713,587
200813,928
200914,037
201013,989
201114,358
201214,681
201315,207
201415,755
201515,986
201615,821
201716,324
201816,559
201917,298
202017,475
202118,150
202219,326
202320,830
202422,664
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Antrim and Newtownabbey council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -13.3% in 1997; -12.7% in 2024. 0.6 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Antrim and Newtownabbey council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-13.3
1998-15.1
1999-15.8
2000-14.1
2001-15.2
2002-13.2
2003-12
2004-10.8
2005-10.9
2006-11
2007-11.5
2008-11.6
2009-12.3
2010-13.4
2011-11.9
2012-13.1
2013-13.2
2014-12.9
2015-16
2016-17.8
2017-17.1
2018-18.9
2019-17.9
2020-16.7
2021-16.9
2022-15.8
2023-14.8
2024-12.7
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults with no qualifications

21.5%

21 March 2021 · Antrim and Newtownabbey council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

First count table in Ward/LGD/NI worksheets of census-2021-ms-g01.xlsx. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Census privacy adjustments can make totals differ slightly between tables.

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

7.3%

21 March 2021 · Antrim and Newtownabbey council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

First count table in Ward/LGD/NI worksheets of census-2021-ms-d01.xlsx. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Census privacy adjustments can make totals differ slightly between tables.

Source →

Average home price

£206,000

July 2026 · Antrim and Newtownabbey council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

25 of 35 requested annual observations are available for population; missing years are not zero.

25 of 35 requested annual observations are available for people aged 0 to 15; missing years are not zero.

25 of 35 requested annual observations are available for people aged 16 to 64; missing years are not zero.

25 of 35 requested annual observations are available for people aged 65 or over; missing years are not zero.

No counts returned for this exact present-day area code in the 2011 census table. Older boundaries have not been reassigned by name or population share.

The 2001 Northern Ireland ethnicity table uses former districts; a verified reconstruction to this modern area is not included.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.